Upcoming Events

Art Crawl @The Commons
Sep 21, 2017
Farmers Market
Sep 22, 2017

Sevierville Commons is that area of Sevierville historically known as “between the ditches.” Today, it is the area between the rivers – the branches of the Little Pigeon River that flows around the downtown area of Sevierville. At the center of it all stands the historic Sevier County Courthouse and, surrounding that, visitors will find food, shopping, three local banks and numerous other businesses. Come visit downtown and discover what the Sevierville Commons has for you.

Featured Business

Andrea Wilson Gallery

Andrea is an international award-winning printmaker and a national award-winning painter.  Specializing in botanicals in both etchings and watercolors.  Come by to see a range of originals, reproductions, prints and notecards.

  1. Courthouse Donuts
  2. Healthy Balance Meals
  3. The Cherry Pit Quilt Shop
  4. 20/20 Optical
  5. Andrea Wilson Gallery
  6. Sweet Peas & Ivy
  7. Bistro 109
  8. Hickory Cabin Seasoning CO.
  9. D Garden
  10. Salvation Army Family Store
  11. The Bees Knees
  12. Cash Hardware
  13. Bloomingtails
  14. Treasures From The Heart
  15. Carl Hatcher Furniture Co.
  16. Cause & Effect
  17. Just Furr-Pets
  18. Southern Fried Hair Studio
  19. Sim’s Barber Shop
  20. Razor & Strop Barber Shop

Courthouse Donuts

East Tennessee’s ORIGINAL Design-Your-Own-Donut Shop in the Heart of Historic Downtown Sevierville!


1

Healthy Balance Meals

Healthy Balance Meals has a healthier Dine-In menu for lunch and a unique prepared entree menu that you can take home. Just heat and eat!


2

The Cherry Pit Quilt Shop

The Cherry Pit opened in 1997 and is located in downtown Sevierville in a storefront built in the 1930s.   In addition to a large selection of quilt fabric, the shop offers quilt kits, patterns, book, and notions.  Each month customers have an opportunity to take part in over six classes which includes Block of the Month. The Cherry Pit is an active partner in QuiltFest in March, Shop Hop in June and Row by Row July through September. 


3

20/20 Optical

Eye Exams, glasses and contacts.  Many different frame styles to choose from.  Takes most insurances.


4

Andrea Wilson Gallery

Andrea is an international award-winning printmaker and a national award-winning painter.  Specializing in botanicals in both etchings and watercolors.  Come by to see a range of originals, reproductions, prints and notecards. Member of the Southern Highlands Craft Guild, Foothills Craft Guild, American Society of Botanical Artists and Great Smoky Arts & Crafts Community.


5

Sweet Peas & Ivy

Vintage Inspired Home Decor, Garden Accessories, Workshops, Jewelry & Unique Gifts


6

Bistro 109

Upscale dining with a Southern charm.


7

Hickory Cabin Seasoning CO.

BBQ, burgers, salads, sauces and seasoning. Daily specials.


8

D Garden

“The Superlative Floratique” It’s a FLORIST, It’s a BOUTIQUE.


9

Salvation Army Family Store

Slightly used furniture, clothing and more.


10

The Bees Knees

Unique gifts, antiques, clothing & monogramming.


11

Cash Hardware

Family owned hardware store serving Sevier Co. since 1929.


12

Bloomingtails

Upscale thrift store.


13

Treasures From The Heart

Everything from clothes, furniture and home décor to crafts, books, and collectibles.


14

Carl Hatcher Furniture Co.

Your downtown furniture destination in Sevierville since 1971.


15

Cause & Effect

Providing personalized service for all your vitamin, mineral, herbal and specialty supplement needs.


16

Just Furr-Pets

Pet Supplies & Grooming


17

Southern Fried Hair Studio

Unique full-service salon specializing in color and hair extensions.


18

Sim’s Barber Shop

Full-service barber shop serving Sevier County since 1960.


  • 156 Bruce St.
19

Razor & Strop Barber Shop

Barber shop, walk-ins welcome, appointments appreciated.


20
  1. Sevier County Court House
  2. Dolly Parton Statue
  3. Public Square
  4. Forks of the River Cemetery
  5. Old Hosiery Mill Building
  6. Murphy College
  7. Dr. Ashley W. Trotter House
  8. First Presbyterian Church
  9. Keeble-Stafford House
  10. Goddard – Teague House
  11. J. Reed Wade House
  12. Gray House Bed & Breakfast
  13. Pines Theatre
  14. David Hotel
  15. Dwight & Kate Wade House
  16. Sevierville Post Office
  17. Jackson Magnolia
  18. Jail Bar Storm Drain Cover
  19. Ogle Building

Sevier County Court House

Built in 1896, Sevier County Courthouse is an excellent example of Victorian architecture. Its brick walls are 13 inches thick and its limestone block foundation is of native materials obtained from the McCown Farm near Sevierville and carried to the courthouse site by horse-drawn wagons. The traditional four-sided Seth Thomas clock is located in the tower. The metal ball on top of the tower was made by Sevierville’s tinsmith George G. M. Nichols. The building was designed by McDonald Brothers; and architectural firm from Louisville, KY. Contractor C. W. Brown of Lenoir City lost so much money on the job he was forced into bankruptcy. The Sevier County Courthouse is perhaps the county’s most treasured landmark.


  • 125 Court Ave
1

Dolly Parton Statue

Created by nationally-known artist Jim Gray, the six-and-a-half foot statue was erected to honor Sevierville native Dolly Parton, an internationally-acclaimed singer-songwriter, instrumentalist, actress, author, and philanthropist. Situated atop a mountain stone chosen to represent Dolly’s Smoky Mountain roots, the iconic rendering depicts Dolly playing a guitar. In 1985, Gray began with a 10-inch proposed model. Dolly has never forgotten her roots and considers this statue her most enduring accolade.


  • 125 Court Ave
2

Public Square

The Public Square was created in 1956 after the third Courthouse burned. The  tragedy prompted the county commissioners to procure one square acre of land “extending an equal distance from the center of the street each way” and build a new brick courthouse in the middle of the square. The courthouse was used until the present one was built in 1896. The public square remained active until 1948 when US 441 and 411 were widened. The Public Square was renovated in 1986 as a symbol to how the old Public Square was the hub for activity for over a century.


  • Main Street and Court Ave
3

Forks of the River Cemetery

The graves of many of the town’s founding fathers and pioneer settlers including those of Isaac Thomas, Spencer Clack, and James McMahan are buried in this old churchyard. The Forks-of-the-Little-Pigeon Baptist Church was never rebuilt after the  congregation disbanded during the Civil War and the building was desecrated by marauding soldiers. The cemetery was restored in 1976 and re-named Forks-of-the-River Cemetery Park. Additional renovation took place in 2009.


  • Riverside Dr
4

Old Hosiery Mill Building

Built in 1920, Loudon Hosiery Mill provided employment for many Sevier County residents for almost 40 years. Using bricks made nearby and burned on the grounds, J.F. & N. McMahan Construction Company, owned by skilled African-American brothers, built the building. Producing nylon, cotton, and silk hosiery, the mill employed 10 men and 75 women. Some of the females were as young as 13 or 14. The mill closed in 1954. The building is currently an office complex called Mill Corner Place.


  • 248 Bruce Street
5

Murphy College

Murphy College opened in 1892 as an auspice of the Methodist-Episcopal Church with three teachers and a principal. At the dedication ceremony Col. James C. Murphy and his son William C. Murphy announced they would contribute $1000. When Col. Murphy died the following year, the school was named in his memory. The subscription school offered courses from primary grades to college. Dr. E.A. Bishop arrived in 1912 to serve as the president and led the expansion of the institution. The college moved to a new site on Park Road in 1923 and its last class graduated in 1935. A short-lived Sevierville Business College moved in the building after the college relocated. The Sevierville Elementary School used the building for several years. Currently, the renovated building is the headquarters for the Sevier County Board of Education.


  • 226 Cedar St
6

Dr. Ashley W. Trotter House

A fine representation of Victorian style, Dr. Ashley W. Trotter built the three-story clapboard structure in 1892. Artisan Lewis Buckner, a nineteenth century African-American craftsman, created the gingerbread trim gables and butterfly wings on the sides of the bay windows, as well as the dumbbell dowels on the exterior facade. The interior is an exhibit of geometric designs and floral carvings. The house is currently a private residence.


  • 217 Cedar St
7

First Presbyterian Church

Designed by R.F. Graf & Sons, First Presbyterian Church was completed in the spring of 1917 at a cost of $3, 992.69. The Ladies Aid Society was instrumental in raising money for the pews. In 1946 an annex was added. This church is the oldest church building in the city and is still in use today. Local craftsman William May designed and built the stain-glass windows, combining fresh and exciting visual images with enduring traditions of the faith.


  • 500 Belle Ave
8

Keeble-Stafford House

James R. Keeble, a professor at Murphy College began construction on the five-room house in May 1908. The house contains elaborate trim work and transoms. Three fireplaces and two flues kept the house warm during its early years. In 1913, Clay Loveday, co-owner of THurman & Loveday Livery Board & Hitch Stable on the public square purchased the house. In 1920, Thomas Stafford and Inez bought the property for which they and their family would own for seventy years. Stafford was a local railroad engineer and businessman.


  • 415 Grace aVE
9

Goddard – Teague House

Elmer F. Goddard, manual arts professor at Murphy College purchased the vacant lot from M.P. Thomas in 1906 and soon constructed the elaborate house that he designed. Originally, the house consisted of a parlor, dining room, kitchen, entrance hall, and several bedrooms. All rooms measured approximately 15 x 15 feet. A circular staircase led to the upstairs. There were several fireplaces built in the corner of each room. Murphy College purchased the house in 1917 and used it as a girl’s dormitory. The next owner, Judge Ben Robertson, did extensive remodeling during the nineteen years he owned the house–including removal of the circular staircase. Currently, the house is the private residence of David and Mary Alice Teague.


  • 307 Prince St.
10

J. Reed Wade House

Built by Mayor J. Reed Wade and his wife Hattie Murphy Wade, the colonial-style, clap-board structure has small porches and large white columns. The interior features a fireplace in every room. Wade operated Sevierville Mills and Ice Company for several years. He served as Mayor of Sevierville from 1945 to 1946. The last member of the Wade family to reside in the house was their daughter, Frances Ostergren, a local folk artist.


  • 300 Prince St.
11

Gray House Bed & Breakfast

In 1899, D. Emert Gass constructed a planing mill on this property which produced the lumber for the houses constructed on Prince Street and neighboring streets. W.B. Emert purchased the property in 1912 and dismantled the mill and built two identical houses. M.V. Emert bought the house in 1915 and sold it to J. Ed Emert and M.P. Thomas the following year. Alton O. Delozier bought the house in 1920. He and his family lived there until 1928. Mayor Robert Howard and his wife Mary acquired the house in 1931. The Howard family owned the property for sixty years.


  • 212 Prince St.
12

Pines Theatre

Operated by Myrtle Paine Waters, The Pines Theatre opened in 1944 in a building built by her husband J.B. Waters, Sr. in 1928, the building first houses Watson Motor Company. The theatre seated over 700 people and had the latest projection equipment, a large stage with controlled curtains and state-of-the-art lighting. In addition to motion pictures, the theatre often featured live performances. Among those who appeared were Archie Campbell, The Carlisle Brothers, Hotshot Elmer, Chet Atkins, Roy Acuff, and the Carter Family. The Pines Theatre closed in 1957 and the building has been used by a variety of businesses since.


  • 103 Joy St.
13

David Hotel

In the early 1920’s, Margaret Bowers Davis, widow of James R. David, purchased a lot and built Davis Hotel , a two-story building constructed of red brick. Hot and cold running water was installed in each of the twenty-two rooms and there were four bathrooms. The first floor consisted of a parlor, dining hall and lobby. In 1935, the Rawlings family purchased the hotel and refurbished it into Rawlings Funeral Home. The funeral chapel was added later in the 1950s.


  • 212 Court Avenue
14

Dwight & Kate Wade House

Completed in the Autumn of 1940, the Dwight and Kate Wade house is a near replica of the Garden Home at The Town of Tomorrow exhibit of the 1939-1940 New York World’s Fair. Designed by Vera Cook Salomonsky, the Wades purchased the plans for this home while on their honeymoon. Salomonsky designed the house with a unique combination of Art Moderne and Colonial Revival styles. The two-story dwelling features parapeted end facades; a gambrel roof covered with slate; twin chimneys on each end facade. The side porch is supported by Doric columns, in the shape of a half-circle. Dwight Wade, Sr., a prominent Sevierville merchant and civic leader lived in the house until his death in 2008 at age 101.


  • 114 Joy St.
15

Sevierville Post Office

Perhaps the best example of Colonial Revival architecture in Sevier County is the Sevierville Post Office which was built by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in 1940 for $75,000. The building was designed by federal architect Louis A. Simon and Neal A. Melickwas the suprevising engineer. The Post Office is based on a standardized architectural plan for federal post offices that were constructed by the WPA throughout the country between 1934 and 1943. The building was constructed by the J.F. & N. McMahan Construction Company, notable African-American brick masons from the county. The building is currently used as the Sevier County Heritage Center.


  • 167 Bruce St.
16

Jackson Magnolia

On September 13, 2013, a formal ceremony was held to plan a cutting from Senator Howard Baker’s Magnolia. This tree had grown from the Andrew Jackson Magnolia at the White House and given to Baker by President Ronald Reagan upon Baker’s retirement as chief of staff. The Jackson Magnolia stands to the southwest of the White House, just west of the South Portico. It was planted there from a sprout taken to the White House by Andrew Jackson that came from his wife Rachel’s favorite tree at the Hermitage. A cutting was given to Judge Rex Henry Ogle who donated the sapling to the City of Sevierville.


  • 136 Bruce St.
17

Jail Bar Storm Drain Cover

The storm drain cover located at the back of the graveled alley (Across the street from the gazebo) is one of the two remaining grates that were crafted from salvaged prison bars from the old jail. In 1856, a horrific fire destroyed most of the buildings in downtown Sevierville including the courthouse and jail. Reputedly, the fire began when Sheriff Lemuel Duggan was said to have turned over a basket of chips on the hearth of the open fireplace while building a fire. The solitary prisoner on the night of the fire was burned to death. From the hail the fire spread to the nearby courthouse and other adjoining buildings. The other remaining grate is located on the north side of the courthouse in an alley just East of Lera Court.


  • Bruce St.
18

Ogle Building

The first business to occupy the Ogle Building was the Purity Drug Company. On December 8, 1923, the First National Bank opened in the building. The bank did not survive the Great Depression. There are no supports to the floor joists except for the walls, and the joists stretch all the way across the 26-foot floors. The wood used in the building was notable because “it came out of the finest tract of yellow pine lumber ever cut in Sevier County.”


  • 103 Bruce St.
19